Welcome To

Logo 2

Home About Us

Museum

Society News
Current Events

Historical
People

Historical
Places
Historical
Events
Sheldon Historical
Society Past Events
 
This Place Called "Sheldon"
Sheldon Town consists of many acres with many habitable areas known as villages. Each of the villages has a unique history and development. Businesses, churches, cemeteries, and multiple other locations help to define Sheldon and to speak to its history.

Sheldon Village aka "The Creek"

 

Sheldon Springs

First settled by Smith Olmstead and known as “Olmsted Falls,” Sheldon Springs came into existence in the late 1700s.  Olmstead was a farmer and the owner of a grist mill at the falls.  The Missisquoi River at the north end of the village provided the impetus for the settlement with its source of power.  Major Smith built the first saw mill here in 1792 capable of cutting 15,000 feet of lumber a day.  George Bancroft owned the Lime Kiln and quarry and manufactured lumber, shingles and lathes. Included within the community were one store, a Missisquoi Railroad station, and Congress Hall. A school house was erected before 1800.  The first postmaster in Sheldon Spring was William Adams appointed on June 26, 1871.

Sheldon Junction

 

North Sheldon

 

East Sheldon

 

Shawville

 

South Franklin

 

The Churches of Sheldon

 

The Sheldon Poor Farm

Articles and photos reveal an interesting history of the Poor Farm.

The Missisquoi Campground

 

Fire and Flood - A History of Sheldon Bridges

A review of the 7 covered bridges that spanned the Missisquoi River and Black Creek.

The Mill

A brief review of the history of the Missisquoi Pulp and Paper Company with links to interesting sites.